• DeAngelis Lab Studies Climate Change and Its Affects on Soil Microbial Communities

    One of several research projects underway in Kristen DeAngelis' Molecular Microbial Ecology Lab is the study of how long-term climate warming affects microbial feedbacks to climate change. Read more »

  • Holden Studies Deep-Sea Hydrothermal Vents in Northeastern Pacific

    One of the many research projects currently underway in the Holden Laboratory is the study of geomicrobiology of deep-sea hydrothermal vents along the Juan de Fuca Ridge in the northeastern Pacific Ocean. Read more »

  • Derek Lovley

    Derek Lovley Named AAAS Fellow

    Derek Lovley, Distinguished Professor of Microbiology, has been named a fellow of the American Associate for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).  Two other UMass faculty members, Deputy Chancellor Robert S. Feldman and Professor Jeffrey D. Blaustein, were also named AAAS fellows. Read more »

  • Plant Based Therapy Being Developed that Can Kill Malaria Parasites

    Plant Based Therapy Being Developed that Can Kill Malaria Parasites

    Mostafa Elfawal, Postdoctoral Research Associate, works with Stephen Rich on a novel whole plant based artemisinin combination therapy (ACT) that is effective in killing malaria parasites and actually slows the rate of evolution of parasite drug resistance. Read more »

  • Morita lab investigates the molecular mechanisms of mycobacterial pathogenesis

    Morita lab investigates mechanisms of mycobacterial pathogenesis

    The Morita lab focuses its research on the cell wall biogenesis in mycobacteria. Components of cell wall and underlying plasma membrane are important virulence determinants, and Dr. Morita’s group has published a series of papers delineating the complex pathways that govern the biosynthesis of phosphatidylinositol-based glycolipids such as phosphatidylinositol mannosides, lipomannan, and lipoarabinomannan. Read more »

News & Announcements

Burand Testifies Before the Joint Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture

July 2015:  Dr. John Burand, Professor of Microbiology, testified on Beacon Hill before the Joint Committee on the Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture. The meeting, held on Tuesday, July 28, was a bee oversight hearing focusing mainly on colony collapse disorder and related legislation that has been proposed. Dr. Burand gave a presentation on the impact of the bee colony collapse. Read more...

Holden Promoted to Professor

July 2015:  Microbiology faculty member, Dr. James Holden, has been promoted to the rank of Professor effective September 1, 2015. 

Tovar Recognized as 21st Century Leader

May 2015: Dorothy Tovar, Microbiology Class of 2015, was recognized at the UMass Undergraduate Commencement as one of 10 students chosen to be 21st Century Leaders. This award recognizes graduating seniors who have demonstrated exemplary standards of achievement, initiative and social awareness and are made possible by the generous financial support of the UMass Amherst Alumni Association.

Manning Inventor Fellowship Awarded

May 2015: Jessica Smith, Postdoctoral Research Associate, has been selected by the College of Natural Sciences to receive the 2015-2016 Manning Inventor Fellowship for her project, Real Time Subsurface Microbial Activity Monitoring of Contaminants. Dr. Smith's postdoctoral advisor is Dr. Derek Lovley, Distinguished University Professor. Read more...


April 2015: Who should take part in #UMassGives? Everyone! UMassGives is 36 amazing hours beginning Wednesday, April 29 at noon through April 30 at midnight when alumni, parents, students, and friends inspire and encourage each other to make a gift online. Tweet, post, like, give and share for the Department of Microbiology. In our department, UMassGives is about supporting our students. Make a gift to enhance the annual Curt Thorne Carry On Award for Microbiology graduate students. Every gift will make a difference!