Past News & Announcements

Please visit our home page to see current news and announcements.

Vincent Giacalone Selected as Rising Researcher

April 2017: Vincent Giacalone, a Microbiology senior, has been selected to receive the 2016-2017 Rising Researcher student achievement award. The award will be presented at a reception on April 12, 2017. Mr. Giacalone has been working in the laboratory of Dr. Wilmore Webley on research related to infections that cause asthma in children. In Fall of 2017 he will continue on to pursue a Ph.D. in Immunology at Emory University. 

UMass Launches the School of Earth & Sustainability

April 2017: On April 19th, the University will launch the new School of Earth & Sustainability (SES). This cross-discipline partnership includes the Departments of Environmental Conservation, Geosciences, Landscape Architecture & Regional Planning, Stockbridge School of Agriculture and Environmental Microbiologists from the Department of Microbiology. The partnership includes over 100 faculty that share a common focus on sustainability, the environment and earth sciences. Read more...

Srishti Kashyap Wins Travel Award to Present a Talk at Astrobiology Science Conference
March 2017: Srishti Kashyap, a Ph.D. student in the laboratory of James Holden, received a travel award to present her biogenic mineral transformation research in an oral presentation at the 2017 Astrobiology Science Conference (AbSciCon 2017) in Mesa, Arizona.
Begüm Topcuoglu Receives Graduate Student Award

February 2017: Begüm Topcuoglu, Microbiology Ph.D. candidate, was awarded the Curtis B. Thorne "Carry On" Award on February 25, 2017. The award was established in 2008 to honor former Microbiology Faculty member Curt Thorne. The graduate student is chosen based on contributions to the Department and their discipline and for serving as a role model to other students.

Yasu Morita Receives Faculty Award

February 2017: Dr. Yasu Morita, Assistant Professor of Microbiology, received the 2017 James F. Holden Distinguished Teaching Award on February 25. The award is presented annually to a member of the Microbiology graduate faculty who has made a positive impact on the educational experience of students in the Microbiology graduate program.