Past News & Announcements

Kristen DeAngelis Chosen as American Society for Microbiology Distinguished Lecturer

Kristen DeAngelis Chosen as American Society for Microbiology Distinguished Lecturer

The American Society for Microbiology Distinguished Lecturer Program selects a scientifically diverse group of lecturers to speak at local ASM Branch meetings throughout the U.S. Lecturers are chosen annually through a competitive nomination process and only the most distinguished lecturers and researchers are chosen to participate in the program.

Read More

Stephen Rich and Co-Investigators Receive Grant from the CDC

Stephen Rich

The University of Massachusetts Amherst has received a $10 million, five-year award from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to create the New England Center of Excellence in Vector-Borne Diseases (NEWVEC). Stephen Rich, professor of microbiology, will serve as the project's principal investigator and Andrew Lover, assistant professor in the School of Public Health and Health Sciences will serve as the center's deputy director, with co-investigator Guang Xu, and investigators at Northern Vermont University, the University of Maine, University of New Hampshire, University of Rhode Island and Western Connecticut State University.

Read More

CNS Lecturers' Council Wins UMass Advance Award

UMass Advance EPiC-SD Award

Erika Hamilton, Lecturer in Microbiology, and other members of the CNS Lecturers' Council received the Equitable Practices in Collaboration and Shared Decision-Making (EPiC-SD) Award from UMass ADVANCE. The award recognizes effective and equitable shared decision-making practices in faculty-led groups of three or more. The winning teams will each receive $500.

Read More

Sarah Kaunfer Honored as 21st Century Leader

Sarah Kaunfer

Sarah Kaunfer, Microbiology Class of '22, will be honored as a 21st Century Leader along with nine other seniors at UMass Undergraduate Commencement on Friday, May 13, 2022. Ms. Kaunfer was an undergraduate researcher with Associate Professor of Microbiology Yasu Morita studying characterization of the cell envelope of Mycobacterium tuberculosis, the causative agent for the global respiratory disease.

Read More

Ashley Eng & Wyatt Tran Win Prestigious Goldwater Scholarships

Goldwater Scholars

Microbiology undergraduates Ashley Eng ’23, and Wyatt Tran ’23, have won scholarships from the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence Foundation. Goldwater Scholarships support students who have a passion for research, potential to contribute to their disciplines, and who plan to pursue a graduate degree.

Read More

Emily Bechtold Receives 2022 Curt Thorne Carry On Award

Emily Bechtold

Emily Bechtold is the 2022 recipient of the Curt Thorne Carry On Award. The award is given annually by the Microbiology faculty to a doctoral student for their contributions to the Department and their discipline and for serving as a role model to other students.. Emily is a February 2022 graduate of the Microbiology Graduate Program and completed her dissertation in Klaus Nüsslein’s lab. Emily is now a postdoctoral research scientist at Colorado State University studying microbial involvement in greenhouse gas emissions from freshwater wetlands.

Kristen DeAngelis Elected to the American Academy of Microbiology

Kristen DeAngelis

Kristen DeAngelis, associate professor of microbiology, has been elected to fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology (ASM). DeAngelis was among the top 65 fellows who are elected into the Academy this year.

Read More

Sloan Siegrist Promoted

Sloan Siegrist

Sloan Siegrist has been promoted from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor of Microbiology effective January 2022.

How Soil Microbes Play Key Role in Global Warming

Soil Microbes Global Warming

Kristen DeAngelis, Associate Professor of Microbiology, was senior author of a study that was recently published is ISME Communications. The study shed light on the relevance of microbial community composition and activity to shape the composition of soil organic matter.

Read More

Microbiology Faculty Recognized as Highly Cited Researchers

Microbiology Highly Cited Researchers

Derek Lovley and Kelly P. Nevin were among nine professors from the University of Massachusetts Amherst that were recognized in 2021 as highly cited researchers by the Web of Science. The annual list identifies researchers who demonstrated significant influence in their chosen field or fields through the publication of multiple highly cited papers during the last decade.

Read More

Kristen DeAngelis to Present Distinguished Faculty Lecture

Kristen DeAngelis

Professor Kristen DeAngelis will present a seminar in the Distinguished Faculty Lecture Series on Wednesday, December 8, at 4:00 p.m. The seminar will be presented via Zoom.

Read More

Wilmore Webley Recognized by Northern Carribbean University

August 2021: Wilmore Webley, Associate Professor of Microbiology, was recently recognized by Northern Carribbean University as their 2021 Product Sample. The award was accepted on behalf of Dr. Webley by a family member at the NCU graduation ceremony held on August 8, 2021. The recognition was given to Dr. Webley as an alum who exemplifies the ethics and values of NCU in his life and work and has distinguished himself in the field of microbiology where he has demonstrated academic and professional excellence.